Awards Evening 2017
Posted on 20 December 2017

Our annual Awards Evening is a night of celebration dedicated to the remarkable achievements of all of the students who left in the summer of 2017.  As well as congratulating all of our leavers on their successes, the College honours those students who have truly excelled throughout their time here, both academically and personally.

Deputy Principal, Catherine Cole, welcomed students from the class of 2017 and their families. This cohort achieved the best ever exam pass rate in the College’s long and successful history – a brilliant 99.3 percent.  This is an impressive statistic by any standards, but when you consider that they were one of the largest cohorts of students in the country and that there is not a minimum entry requirement to join Farnborough, it really is amazing!

Guest of Honour Paul Marcus, Managing Director of Eagle Radio, encouraged the young people in the audience to continue to broaden their horizons, outlining the impact volunteering made to their employability. 

The following are the Class of 2017 Special Award winners - those whose achievements or contribution to College life can justifiably be described as outstanding.  The College is grateful for the generous support of the sponsors who shared the evening with us:

The Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards were presented to Thomas Hammond, Harry Orrin, Robert Penman, Emily Hillan and Samuel Haslam.

Awards for Outstanding Contribution to College Life were given to Jack Bennett, Vivienne Mathews, Edith Cleminson, Grace Howell, Lewis Moss, Lily Murray, Alicia Sanders, Catalina Bowen, Emily Lawrenson, Gemma Brownsword and Katie Yeung.  

The following students were presented the award for Outstanding Personal Achievement: Ethan Pollard, Jasmine Flanagan, Dora Lovrencic, Lauren Miller, Brandon Newbold, Elizabeth Horton, Samuel Freemantle, Jefferson Clark Del Socorro, Myles Goreing, Charlotte Smith, Asmita Thapa and Benjamin Stone.

The Aldershot and District Schools’ Athletics Association presented Jack Boswell with their annual award.

Thomas Fletcher received the accolade of The Stephen Green Musical Volunteer of the Year for his contribution to the life of the music department. He participated in some of the highest profile concerts, including performing a saxophone concerto with a professional orchestra.

Katie Yeung was The Community Matters Partnership Project Student Volunteer of the Year, completing over 177 hours of volunteering during her time at the College with four different organisations.

The Fluor Applied Knowledge Award was presented to Thanush Sritharan who is now studying Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Cardiff University.

Robyn Healey was presented with The Fujitsu Artistic Creativity Award for her incredible work and exceptional results in the three art subjects she studied at College.

Zahira Choudhry received The Fujitsu Award for Exceptional Perseverance. Zahira joined the College with limited English and no formal qualifications, but had the desire to study at university.  She set about making this a reality with a quiet determination and resilience, achieving top marks in all of her level 3 courses, in fact she completed a total of 10 qualifications during her time here.

The Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Andrew Needham, closed the evening by thanking not only the students, but all of the staff for what they do to make the College a brilliant place to study and work.

Congratulations to all our 2017 leavers!