Awards Evening 2018
Posted on 03 January 2019

Our annual Awards Evening is a night of celebration dedicated to the remarkable achievements of all of the students who left in the summer of 2018.  As well as congratulating all of our leavers on their successes, the College honours those students who have truly excelled throughout their time here, both academically and personally.

Principal, Catherine Cole, welcomed students from the Class of 2018 and their families.  This cohort achieved a fantastic pass rate of 99.1%, with 82.3% achieving grades A* to C at A level, as well as 94.1% of those studying vocational courses achieving a Distinction* or Distinction.  These are impressive statistics by any standards, but when you consider that they were one of the largest cohorts of students in the country and that there is not a minimum entry requirement to join Farnborough, it really is amazing!

Guest of Honour Kiran Eyre, a previous student of the College and currently in his final year at Brighton and Sussex Medical School, encouraged the young people in the audience to really think about how they could shape the future, especially in such uncertain times.  He stated that they should be incredibly proud of all they have achieved during their time at Farnborough.

The following are the Class of 2018 special award winners - those whose achievements or contributions to College life can justifiably be described as outstanding.  The College is grateful for the generous support of the sponsors who shared the evening with us:

The Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards were presented to Molly Fryatt, Jarvis Chapman, Gemma Clark, Michael Mortimer and Jeevan Dulku.

Awards for Outstanding Contribution to College Life were given to Lucy Traversari, Diyasa Rai, Becca Heritage, Jess McDonald, Amy Shaw and Sophie Douglas.

The following students were presented with the awards for Outstanding Personal Achievement: David Stacey, Emily Maryon, Georgina Mead, Rémy Parks, René Munro, Lutrel Kai Ryland-Gasher, Anna Elema, Melissa Gurung, Neaan Dinarvand, Dennis Limbu, Ruben Martins Kerr, Kayla Thompson and Beth Ingleton.

The Aldershot and District Schools’ Athletics Association presented Robbie Coupland and Lizzie Squibbs with their annual sports award.

The Fluor STEM Award was presented by Helen Kilbride to Sujal Gurung who is now studying Medicine at Cambridge University.

Alice Smith was presented with The University for the Creative Arts Creativity and Innovation Award by Andy Blair for her incredible work on her Extended Project Qualification.

Molly Beere received the accolade of The Stephen Green Musical Volunteer Award for her contribution to the life of the music department.  She participated in a huge variety of community projects during her time at the College including the British Legion elderly outreach Christmas project and charity solo recitals at St Eligius’ Church in Arborfield.  The award was given to her by Mr David Green.

Reuben Gubb was presented with The Community Matters Partnership Project Volunteer Award by Tracy Jarvis, in recognition of his volunteer work with Kidz Club, a charity whose aim is to support young people with disabilities and special needs through the provision of recreational opportunities.

The Rising Stars Award, sponsored by The Stacey and Lucy Foundation, was awarded to Ben Thomas who successfully secured a scholarship to Iowa Wesleyan University in the USA to study Sports Management and pursue his dream of playing American Football.  The award was presented on the evening by Lady Carol Coe.

Isobel Hibbert, Rebekah Sugden-Knights and Zachary Marley received the Exceptional Perseverance Awards, which recognise those students who have shown resilience and determination in the face of adversity. 

The Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Andrew Needham, closed the evening by thanking not only the students, but all of the staff for what they do to make the College a brilliant place to study and work.

Congratulations to all our 2018 leavers!